Writerly Wednesday – The Easy Way Out

unnamed (20)

The door was intriguing and frightening at the same time. I wiped my sweaty palms on my faded denims as sweat trickled down the small of my back.

“Don’t bother with the door.” A voice whispered in my head. “Take the passageway, it’s much easier.”

I had to make a decision and fast; the world behind me was crumbling. Only one exit would lead me in the right direction. Only one exit was the right choice.

I exhaled and began the difficult climb. More than once I lost my footing but I kept trying, ignoring the voice. The easy way is not always the best choice, I whispered back. I’d learned that the hard way and the turmoil behind me was the proof.  Instantly, I knew I’d made the right decision. All my hard work was about to pay off.

Flash fiction prompt provided by http://www.writerlycorner.com/writerly-prompts/writerly-wednesday-762016.

7 thoughts on “Writerly Wednesday – The Easy Way Out

Leave a Reply

