Writerly Wednesday – Heaven Sent

unnamed (27)

I sat down on the beach, buried my toes in the hot sand, and drew my knees toward me; hugging them tight. I closed my eyes and inhaled, the salty sea air sent me back in time.

I wiggled my toes, feeling each grain of sand as I buried them deeper. The ocean breeze cooled my hot skin. The rhythmic hush of crashing waves soothed my weary soul. I opened my eyes, looked out over the vastness, and tasted the sea as a single tear fell to my lips. He’d been gone for a year, but he was always with me, the warmth of the sun – his touch; the hush of the waves – his whisper; the blue of the sea – his eyes.

I looked down at the mound of sand covering my feet, a white feather rested on top.  “Hi,” I whispered. “Thanks, for staying by my side.”

Flash fiction prompt provided by http://www.writerlycorner.com/writerly-prompts/writerly-wednesday-8172016.

8 thoughts on “Writerly Wednesday – Heaven Sent

Leave a Reply

