Writerly Wednesday – A Voice in the Wilderness

unnamed

Okay, as promised, my Writerly Wednesday post. I wasn’t sure what I was going to write about when I saw my prompt for the week. Then I started looking up explorers and read about Percy Fawcett.  My flash fiction is based on this, though since he and his team disappeared, who knows exactly what happened.

 

I pushed away another frond jutting out over the overgrown trail. The protests of my team were barely audible; drowned out by jungle sounds.

“FAWCETT!”

The roar brought me to a halt. I wiped the sweat from my brow as I turned to stare down my colleague.

“Enough!”

I gave a half smile. “It’s enough when we find the lost city.” I turned with my fists clenched at my side. “Or when I give up,” I muttered. I whacked at a large vine with my machete; my mood improved with each swing.

“Danger!”

A beautiful parrot stared at me and I laughed. “Well, you didn’t learn that on your own.”

“FAWCETT!”

I looked back at the green wall behind me and shook my head as I turned back toward my new companion. “Lead the way, parrot!”

“Danger!” The parrot cried as it flew ahead and I followed. They’ll be sorry.

Flash fiction prompt provided by http://www.writerlycorner.com/writerly-prompts/writerly-wednesday-1052016.

2 thoughts on “Writerly Wednesday – A Voice in the Wilderness

Leave a Reply

