Writerly Wednesday – Don’t Put off Until Tomorrow What Can Be Done Today

unnamed-42

My laptop beckoned as I walked by it for the umpteenth time. First, it was the laundry, then the dog needing her walk. When the phone rang, a sense of guilt washed over me as I stared at it sitting on the table.

I turned the kettle on for the second time that morning as my eyes darted past the waiting laptop and fell on my mug; a teabag nestled inside, ready for its dousing.

A month had gone by since I’d done anything meaningful on that computer. Procrastination and an endless supply of excuses constantly pulled me away. It was so much easier to blame my hectic schedule when really it was my uncertainty that interfered.

I sat down and pressed the power button, my mind raced with excitement and apprehension. Today I would begin again. I would not let fear take over. I had a book to write.

Flash fiction prompt provided by http://www.writerlycorner.com/writerly-prompts/writerly-wednesday-12142016

4 thoughts on “Writerly Wednesday – Don’t Put off Until Tomorrow What Can Be Done Today

Leave a Reply

