#SoCS – Every Garden May Have Some Weeds

socsbadge2016-17

This week’s Stream of Consciousness Prompt is to write about whatever comes to mind using the title of a book you are currently reading.

The book I’m reading at the moment is The Forgotten Garden.

My gardens aren’t exactly forgotten. In fact, I think about them at least once or twice a week. I think about how they need to be watered (especially my window box flowers and hanging baskets), how I should weed them, thin out some of the plants etc. The problem is in the doing.

Every spring I am eager to see my perennials pop up. I planted perennials because they are so much easier to maintain than annuals (I think so anyway). I usually buy a few more and plant them here and there. I pull the weeds and yank out perennials that have gotten out of hand. I water my hanging baskets and window box flowers (usually the only annuals I have). After a couple of weeks, I start to neglect them a bit. Not completely, they don’t die, but they do wilt a little until I water again. Some of my hanging baskets don’t get as full and lush as they should be, and weeds sometimes get a little out of control until I weed again.

A green thumb – maybe. I certainly enjoy my gardens but life and other things get in the way. Perhaps I’ll pay more attention when I’m retired. Then again, I can’t really see me spending every day in my garden. I like plants and flowers but weeding and watering – not so much.

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for #SoCS July 15/17

One thought on “#SoCS – Every Garden May Have Some Weeds

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.